Nothing says, “I Love You” like carrot juice and wheatgrass.

I confess, I am a closet hippie. Don’t get me wrong. I shave my armpits and don’t really care for tie dye. BUT I think there is something to be said for eating real food, living a healthy lifestyle and being conscientious about the environment. Am I the model citizen for all topics above? No. Could I work out more, drink less and lose 20 (ok 30) pounds? Yes. It doesn’t mean I don’t try. Could I give you a handful of excuses as to why not? Yes, but I won’t waste both of our time.

With all of that being said, I plan on conquering this “pan can” with a hybrid of both traditional and non-traditional healing. With the advice of my HMLO (Holistic Medical Loved One) and by doing some research myself, I’ve decided to incorporate wheatgrass and carrot juice into my daily diet.

Just a few days after my diagnosis it was Valentine’s Day. It was a hell of a week and my husband wanted to go watch the opening game of the Aggie baseball season. I opted to stay home; I was emotionally exhausted and had a DVR full of Winter Olympic event coverage that I was excited to watch. I went to the kitchen to make my carrot juice concoction and *gasp* realized I was out of carrots! I texted my husband to see if he could stop by the local co-op to pick up organic carrots and check out the wheatgrass selection. After the game, he got home with pounds of organic carrots, and flats of bright green and cheery wheatgrass.

Now I will give the man credit where credit is due. He got me a great pair of garnet earrings that morning for Valentine’s Day. But for now, I’m convinced nothing says, “I Love You” like carrot juice and wheatgrass for your closet hippie wife.

So for the first time in my life when I say I want a shot, it’s not of tequila but of wheatgrass!

5 thoughts on “Nothing says, “I Love You” like carrot juice and wheatgrass.

  1. Lori – I completely forgot how hilarious you are! Your spirit and humor is contagious and thank you for sharing. Good luck my friend!

Leave a Reply

