Cannabis Wonderfulness

Never in a million years did I think I would venture off into the world of medical marijuana (MMJ) or medical cannabis.  Never in a million years did I think it would be so effective and never, Ever, EVER did I think I would write a blog post about it.  But I also didn’t think I would ever, ever have cancer.

In my very first blog post, I mentioned medical marijuana to try to keep things light and make readers chuckle. I thought that would be the end of it. But after chatting with some fellow cancer patients, my oncologist and advocates for medical cannabis, I thought, why not apply for my MMJ card? For those who aren’t familiar with medical cannabis, the state of New Mexico allows citizens with certain medical diagnoses (such as cancer) to apply for and obtain a special card (kind of like a driver’s license) that allows them to purchase cannabis products from qualified dispensaries.  The process can take up to 45 days, so early in my journey I applied.  I figured that if I was going to explore cannabis as a treatment option, I wanted it to be on the up and up. I’m a mommy, a wife, a professional and quite opposite of a pothead.  If I was going to purchase cannabis I wanted to know exactly what I was purchasing and that it hadn’t been sitting in someone’s closet for three years.  I don’t want my money supporting cartels or to live in fear of having an illegal substance in my house.

A couple months ago, one of the two anti-nausea meds that had worked so well in the winter started to give me side effects. Now, I really struggle sharing this with my blog audience–I am a lady after all–but it made me constipated, okay? Like really, really uncomfortably backed up. Whew, I feel better admitting it.  Now, not only was being backed up a problem, but I have liver cancer. Keeping the body flowing is important for everybody, but even more important for someone in my compromised health situation.

So, I decided to purchase medical cannabis edibles since I wasn’t fond of sneaking outside to puff away.  The last thing I wanted was for my son to see or smell that.  The first month I only ate a small square of chocolate when I had three to four symptoms at once, and only when my son was in bed.  The last thing I wanted to be was a high mommy.  I quickly noticed that the chocolate edible relieved ALL of my symptoms; nausea, pain, anxiety, and was an appetite stimulant. The only real side effect was being happy and occasional silliness.  And is that really a side effect?

One Saturday night when I thought my son was asleep, I ate some chocolate, but to my surprise he was awake.  After spending an hour of 100% mommy/son quality time where I was engaged with him and not dealing with pain or nausea, I realized that I needed to get over my fear of medicating while he was awake.  It was the first time in months that I had really been present with him.

The main symptoms I struggle with are nausea and vomiting.  Without meds I would throw up 75-90% of all meals. And it’s slippery slope into a vicious cycle. Since most people don’t have this problem, let me try to explain how it works.  I wake up and have approximately thirty minutes to eat before my body starts to self destruct.  I get shaky, my stomach aches and I get nauseated.  If I eat in time, I have about a 50/50 chance of keeping it down.  The same thing happens about 5 more times through out the day.  Now let’s say I don’t keep one of the meals down.  I get tired, my appetite sucks, my body gets dehydrated, my mind starts to become less sharp. Out of fear of throwing up again, I skip the next meal. That just leads to more fatigue and leaves me more brain dead. Get the point?

Because of that vicious cycle, I started upping my consumption of MMJ to stay “ahead” of the nausea. Since then, I’ve been able to partake in more activities. I can make my family dinner, go to outdoor concerts, fundraisers and my son’s baseball games without living in fear of throwing up. My husband, who has seen it’s positive impact on me, believes it’s improving my quality of life. So do I. FYI, my husband is total white bread. Now the one side effect that it really doesn’t help me with is exhaustion.  When I’m tired, I’m tired. Sleep and rest is really the only way to deal with it.

I’m handling my consumption of medical cannabis delicately and cautiously, just as one should when taking any medication. The last thing I want is to be a stoner with red droopy eyes saying, “Ya man. This stuff is bad ass bro.”

Recently, I’ve started learning about different strains of cannabis and how they can be used for different symptoms. There is also an entire world of ways to inhale/ingest.  Who knew? I’ll soon be trying a new form of medical cannabis with low THC that won’t give me the “high” effect but will hopefully still help with the my symptoms.  Right now I am taking such low doses that it almost isn’t enough to even feel or act high, although occasionally I do.

I know medical marijuana can be a controversial subject and everyone has an opinion (or three!) about it. The last thing I want to do is push my agenda on you. Although I’m studying and reading about the many benefits this plant has, I’m definitely taking all the claims people make about it with a grain of salt.  That is to say, cautiously.  But I can speak to my experience.  And I can say without a shadow of a doubt that medical cannabis is helping me with my quality of life, and I’m glad that New Mexico law allows for its use.

PS – If you were wondering if I had “been under the influence” the last time you saw me.  The answer is yes.  I take it everyday.  Bet you wouldn’t have known, huh?  Since I started the new regiment last night, I am going to lean on the cannabis since nausea and vomiting are the biggest side effects.  Because the chemo is taken orally in pill form, keeping the meds down is the most important.  Throwing them up does do me much good.  Although I’ve enjoyed sharing this part of my journey with you.  I will jump this ship and head right over to my mini Walgreen’s home pharmacy of anti-nasuea meds if my Mary Jane fails me.  I think I am up to five different types prescriptions.  Not that MMJ isn’t, that is absolutely how I am handling it.

PPS – Please don’t ask me if I can “hook you up.”  The answer is, “No way, Jose!”

PPPS – It’s awesome stuff man!

15 thoughts on “Cannabis Wonderfulness

    • I am so glad it works for you. I have been a mmj patient for years now. It is very possible to use mmj and still be a productive member of society, and a good mother. Wishing you and your family all the best.

  1. “If the whole world smoked a joint at the same time, There would be world peace for at least two hours. Followed by a global food shortage. ”

    I’m so glad you are finding some relief. It’s so unfortunate that an unambitious group of individuals have given a bad connotation to a plant that has been used by medicine men for centuries to cure many ailments. You are no “stoner” my dear. You are part of an elite class of beautiful and educated people who partake in a healing ritual. Thank you for sharing so eloquently. Xoxo – Sarina

  2. You are a beautiful soul and I’m glad that you are getting relief from your symptoms. I’m amazed how judgemental people can be without doing research. Keep doing what you feel is right! Quality of life and spending time with those who love you is priority #1!

  3. I have always been pro-MMJ! If alcohol is legal for recreation, why shouldn’t a natural plant be legal for medical reasons?! I’m so glad that it’s offering you some relief!

  4. Thanks for sharing. We are so pleased it is providing the help you need when so much else fails. Barb and I are strong believers in its medical benefits and are pleased it is being recognized and accepted more and more. Keep the chin up and the smiles coming!

  5. “PS – Please don’t ask me if I can “hook you up.” The answer is, “No way, Jose!” — Hilarious Lori!! I am glad it’s working!

  6. I am so glad you have found a breakthrough. There have been many studies that have proven MMJ to cure cancer and it all starts with CBD oils. Keep up on the research and maybe one day that will cure you… We can only pray that MMJ is the cure for cancer since Pharmaceuticals can not find a cure. It was nice seeing you that day. You looked wonderful and happy just the way I remember before this illness. ❤

  7. I am a firm believer in this I have seen great results in some people very close to me including my 84 year old father. CNN has two specials about it that are great if you get a chance to watch them. I also have a very close friend who has Stevens Johnson who was taking up to 6 pain pills a day and missing life he started using the one that you inhale he can sometimes go days without pain medicine now he is dancing again and able to walk without pain. I’m very happy for you, and hope that you continue to enjoy life to the fullest!

  8. Go for it Lori! If it works, use the HELL out it! I feel that way about just plain ole CHOCOLATE. Ya man, awesome stuff, bro!!! LOL!

Leave a Reply

