New Regimen: Round One

Just a quick update telling you how things went.  To all of our surprise, I tolerated the new regimen very well.  I was brief when explaining it before – so let me tell you how it works.  I take one medication every 12 hours for 14 days.  I chose 9 am and 9 pm.  On days 10-14 I double up and take another medication at night.

Reading the side effects on chemotherapy is always daunting; this regimen isn’t any exception.  The most serious one is nausea/vomiting.  Since the meds are oral if I throw them up then what’s the point?  There are also concerns for extremely dry hands and feet amongst other less-exciting side effects.  On day 10, I woke up at midnight dry heaving for an hour.  Now let me tell you, I have experienced my fair share of vomit – whether it was in college after a keg stand, or since my diagnosis.  But, this dry heaving was like, “Buckle up. You are in for a ride.”  I woke up the next morning with busted blood vessels from my face to my chest.  My abs actually hurt and I threw my neck out from dry heaving so hard.  It was awful.  But, in an effort to keep my “glass half full attitude”, it was a walk in the park compared to the last regimen. 

Now it’s entirely possible that the second round will be more difficult, as the cumulative effect is always a scary thought and reality.  But for now, I will shrug it off as not that big of a deal and something that I can see myself handling in the future.     

I’ve said it before: I have cancer, but cancer does not have me.

5 thoughts on “New Regimen: Round One

  1. I read this as I was waiting to begin my day in AZ and I have to tell you it made my day. You truly are an inspiration! Sending lots of love!

Leave a Reply

