Am I Tough Enough to Wear Pink?

I was driving home thinking about how I was going to write this post when I got a message with this video in it: http://www.tout.com/m/1n0z03.  It’s gonna make writing this blog post so very easy.

If you know me at all, you know how opinionated I am about certain topics.  Just today I went to Dick’s Sporting Goods to buy my son a pink pair of football socks for him to wear during the month of October.  I read every package to see if Nike, Reebok or Umbro was going to make a donation to any cancer-related organization.  Of course, none of them said they would.  It made me think – why are we spending our money on pink socks?  So that some investment group can make record dividends in the month of October?  I also got a note home from the Las Cruces Public School system for their “Pink Week” and the cynical side of me said, how does this actually help?  Am I even ready to start talking about breasts to my 8-year-old?  Poor little thing already has cancer in his everyday vocabulary.  At the school he attends, 85% of the students are either on free or reduced lunches.   How are parents with limited funds going to afford this?

I can’t answer these questions, but I can tell you how it affects me.

By now, you know my love and affection for the NMSU Football team.  You also know that I am getting treatment at the MMC Cancer Center.  Since 2007, Cowboys for Cancer Research and the Tough Enough to Wear Pink campaign have partnered together to raise over $3 million dollars to fund and support cancer research at both the University of New Mexico and New Mexico State University. Three million dollars.  When Las Cruces decides they are behind something, they are passionate about what they stand up for.  This little community has decided that they will support these organizations, and it just so happens to be at my very favorite platform, which is around an NMSU football game.

I only spend my money and my time on organizations and people that I believe in.  And I believe in both of these.

Now, just between you and me, I don’t even like the color pink (my closet consists of black, white and crimson).  But, I like what it means in our community.  I like that on October 2nd, I will be in a fashion show where the proceeds stay in our state to help the future of medicine.  Will any of these funds actually benefit me or my type of cancer?  Probably not, but it will effect someone down the road that might be my neighbor or my friend.  I wouldn’t wish what I am going through on my worst enemy.  So coming together to watch a silly fashion show or not-so-silly football game is what pink means to me.

So, I guess I answered my own question:  I am tough enough to wear pink.  Come to the game and check out how I choose to wear it – it’s a surprise!  But the most important part for me is cheering on our Aggies to a victory, as this is a conference game and so much is on the line for them… aside from just those pink jerseys.

Thank you Las Cruces and Southern New Mexico for opening up your arms and wrapping them tightly around me.  This week I will take all of your love and pour it back into those the Aggies.  We are indeed tougher together.

12 thoughts on “Am I Tough Enough to Wear Pink?

  1. Lori–You are absolutely right: LOCAL PINK makes sense. All those other silly pink gimcracks, gewgaws, & other assorted sales gimmicks do not–an absolute minimum of the money from their sales goes to breast cancer research. Those who are selling them are exploiting breast cancer as a marketing tool. Thanks for once more hitting on the truth in a big way!

  2. I LOVE that NMSU football keeps this local!! Post pics please Lori of the events especially the game – would love to see how you rock the pink. Pink week hits home for me – thanks so much!

  3. Love this post Lori! I am very cynical about all of the pink stuff and have had the same thoughts about the schools. They have no idea what its about and the schools themselves need money for all sorts of underfunded programs. I’ve been skeptical of C4CR and pink too and how much was hoopla and how much was really going to work…. and then I talked to Bryan Bagwell at the ropin event and he was telling me that about 80-85% of the money goes directly to research endowments at UNM and NMSU/MMC and started telling me about some of the actual research projects and the results they are getting. It’s a long way off, but it was really cool to hear actual research stories taking place in New Mexico to make a difference. I told him they need to tell that story much better – people need to hear it. Thank you for all you are doing to raise awareness for the cause. And setting an example for all of us on how to fight hard, keep a great attitude and rise above!

  4. I live in San Antonio, Texas and I always talk to my friends about how tough Las Crucens and New Mexicans are. My Texan friends make fun of Las Cruces and NM a lot in a joking way….just to get my goat. You exude everything it is to be a Las Crucen and New Mexican and you make me very proud to call Las Cruces my hometown! Go Lori and Go Aggies!!

  5. Wow, I hadn’t read your blog yet until the Sun News today, I have a friend, Tim and Kelly who are your mutual friends and have heard… but let me tell you the smile I have on my face from your strength and compassion to battle this and anything that comes in your way. I’d be honored for you to allow me to follow your blog as I sit here with a pile of Kleenex after reading every last one. Sport that pink and keep up the excellent attitude and awesome spirit you have towards the BIG C. Signed, your Newest and Greatest fan!

  6. Lori- One of the first things that I said after my breast cancer diagnosis was “I don’t like the color pink”. Di can validate this. Over the years, I have adjusted my standards. But it has to be bright pink. Still don’t like pastel pink.
    I look forward to seeing you tomorrow modeling at the TETWP fashion show. You are DEFINITELY tough enough to wear pink! Love you, girl!!

  7. Lori, just read the article in the Sun News and am so proud to say “she was one of my students” and I love her mother ! You hang in there girl, I will try to learn how to fold a crane and send them to you, but always know that you are in my heart. Mary U.

  8. My love and support go out to you and my Jeremiah. I am blessed to be his teacher this year. May Heavenly Father shine many blessings on you and your family I pray. I will be there for Jeremiah when he needs me.
    Mary Ellen Telles

  9. Lori, you are an amazing and inspiring young lady! Positive thoughts and prayers, will get you through this. You continue to be in our prayers.

  10. Lori, In my humble opinion, anybody who is in the .0001 percentile for being diagnosed with pancreatic cancer, yes you earned that the day they told you why you felt off. Stay strong and keep kicking it in the teeth and never stop kicking even when you are too tired to keep your eyes open. Our best wishes to you and your family as you guys will be in our prayers.

Leave a Reply

