Image

Trojan Tradition

I’m not sure if this particular post is for me or for one of my editors, Christopher.  But, it is indeed time to profess my love for the Mayfield Trojans. It’s this time of year that I am proudest to be a Trojan. The smell in the air has changed; the wonderful scent of green chile roasting has changed to red chile being processed.  I can walk outside my house and can hear the sound of the MHS drum line and scent of tacos (thanks for that one Jeremiah).  It’s the time of year that Trojans unite, Bulldawgs unite and we divide this town right in half.  Now, I know there are four high schools in Las Cruces, and I’m not tryin’ to ruffle any feathers, but since this is my blog you get to see the world through my eyes.  

This time of year, I drive down Hoagland and think of the hundreds of times during high school I pushed my Mazda 626 over the speed limit, driving to Corner Deli so we could have our traditional Friday afternoon sandwiches.  I look in my rear-view mirror and though my son now occupies the back seat, if I squint, I can still see so many of the friends back there, listening to music, singing at the top of our lungs and applying yet another layer of mascara.

Most of my Gomez Gems share the same love for our Trojans.  It might be why I’m still “a little crazy” about them now. And, yes we are indeed a little obnoxious, Auntie Libby.  But that love is why the first house I bought was across the street from Mayfield.  It’s why every time we talk about moving, I make it known that we must live in the Mayfield district.  It’s what helped instill in me a sense of tradition, a sense of belonging; it’s my part of the Trojan legacy.

When I attended MHS I danced on the pom pon dance team. While attending college, I was lucky to to return to Mayfield, this time as a dance coach.  Now, I’m not going to pretend that every second spent coaching 15-20 teenage girls was always a bouquet of sunshine and daffodils. Hello, it was 15-20 teenage girls! But I will tell you what pom pon power has done for me now. I have had a lot–and I mean A LOT–of friends from high school reach out to me.  99% of what my fellow Trojans have said has been awesome, inspiring and truly sentimental.  Included are a decent number girls–now women– I danced with or coached, but never really had a relationship with. Most of the time the message starts off, ‘I know we weren’t very good friends, BUT I’m thinking about you, sending you my thoughts and prayers,’  and it’s awesome.  I love it and soak each of those messages like a dry sponge.

Now, if there are any teenage girls reading this blog and you sometimes want to to poke some other girl’s eyes out because she liked your boyfriend’s Instagram pic, take it from me: life is short.  Spend more time laughing than frowning.  Come together like a band of sisters.  We watch our football players band together like a band of brothers, but we never talk about being a band of sisters.  Why is that?  Why are other women so hard on each other?  We are all just trying to get by.  Let’s support each other ladies!  I do indeed love all of you ladies that I danced with and coached. I have so many memories from that time and I choose to hold the good ones close to my heart.

Sorry I got off of topic. Now back to my love affair with the Trojans.  For this week, our town will be divided while we sport our colors. Mine, of course, are green and gold. As my friend Dave Matthews said, “Tomorrow we can go back to being friends,” on Saturday after the Trojans pummel the “other team.”  It’s this rivalry that makes Las Cruces, Las Cruces.  It’s this rivalry that makes me love this community so stinkin’ much.  It’s why that as I am accepting an award at NMSU on Friday night, I will wear a green and gold outfit, because although I am proud to be an Aggie, I was a Trojan first.

 

IMG_0640

I probably have 1000 pictures of my family in MHS gear, but this is one of my favorites. It’s almost all of “my dudes” at a state championship game that not only MHS won, but my little Betancourt was a superstar at.

One thought on “Trojan Tradition

Leave a Reply

