Of All The Things

While at the mall recently, I jumped for excitement when I noticed an ULTA Beauty store had finally opened in Las Cruces. For those of you who don’t know, ULTA is like the Cabela’s of beauty supply stores for chicks. And let’s be real, I have an unhealthy obsession with lip gloss and nail art. When I got to the register, they asked if I was on their mailing list. I remembered one of the many ridiculous things I did in July, when I thought I was dying. I know, I know, technically, we are all dying. But I don’t feel like I am now, so we’re gonna go with this whole living concept, okay?

At the time, for whatever reason, I started unsubscribing to email lists. I thought that I already received an abnormal amount of promotional emails and one day someone else would be checking my e mails. I didn’t want them to be bothered with all the clutter, so I got off the lists. Of all the things, right!?! Like who cares about that? Me, obviously.

Fortunately, I have eyelashes now and they need mascara again. Duh! Now, what’s a girl to do if she can’t get her hands on some over-priced black stuff in a shiny tube? If the cancer doesn’t kill me, unattractive eyelashes just might.

I guess the point of my ramblings today is that even when you are down and out and decide to do stupid things, remember one day to look back at yourself and laugh. Shrug it off to being a weirdo. Embrace the inner weirdo and have a good chuckle. At the end of the day isn’t laughing more fun than frowning? I seem to think so.

Now go laugh about my ridiculous behavior and choose to laugh at yours too.

FullSizeRender (6)

There are so many reasons to post this pic… 1) Taking a selfie is pretty ridiculous 2) This is my editor’s daughter and she asked to be on my blog 3) This dress deserves to be seen again. As Carrie Bradshaw from Sex and the City would have said, “The dress made me do it!”

FullSizeRender (5)

What a better way to follow up a bathroom glamour shot with maybe the worse picture of me… EVER? This was pre-cancer. Maybe you could tell from the hair and the 50 additional pounds, ha.

 

5 thoughts on “Of All The Things

  1. Aaaaw Lori- I’m glad you wrote a post about beauty (because you are one of the loveliest souls I’ve ever known) and brought it around to humor, because the lightness you retain in your heart and share with others is truly magnificent. This is a lesson you have been sharing with people your whole life whether you knew it or not.. life is not only beautiful in the perfectly captured moments with lighting from on high, but also in the moments spent being real about it and laughing (or crying) because you can’t help yourself. Be Well!
    And I’m glad you mentioned that dress- THAT DRESS! So excellent!

  2. Ultra is the best! When I had curly hair, I got a lot of rewards from them because of all the products I bought! As for a laugh, Joe might have been a little tipsy when we went shopping the other night on our “date night” and he might have spent $80 on loose tea!…and that was after the discount! We couldn’t stop laughing that he had been suckered in to the Teavana buyers remorse club! You’re looking great! I love keeping up with you through FB and this blog. Keep on keeping on! 😊

Leave a Reply

