My Unsung Hero, My Dad

2

This was taken in 2003.

One of the many things I like about having my blog is getting to shed light on so many of the awesome people around me. It’s not just since my diagnosis, I’ve always been around awesome people. Hopefully, you’ve gotten to know not just who, but why I hold people close.

It’s time that I get to tell you about my Daddy. Is he perfect? Nope. Have we had an inseparable connection from day one? Nope. Are there better dads in the world? Probably. But, not one that’s better for me.

A few months ago, my husband had been put on crutches due to what we thought was a hip condition. It happened at the very end of my 9th round of chemo, which was the most difficult one yet of this regimen.  Simultaneously, one of my football players left for training camp and I was just about to have a meltdown when I called my Dad.  I think I said something along the lines of “This isn’t fair!” and “When am I (when are WE?) going to get an effin break”?

He reminded me that a fair is a place where you show pigs and ride ferris wheels.  He also told me that I do have a few breaks: my job and my son. He’s so very right. I recently met with Jeremiah’s educators and they said they wished they had a classroom full of kids just like him. My little second grader reads at a 6th grade level and tops the charts in math.  My employers and co-workers continue to blow my mind with compassion and kindness.

My Dad and I share a respect for horses, a love for big black dogs and passion for the Green Bay Packers. He’s the reason I love football. He’s also the reason I’m so grounded. He has a high school diploma and a certificate of horse shoeing, yet is one of the smartest people I know.  He’s taught me to not take myself too seriously and how to laugh. If I could have a drink with any person in the world it would probably be him. Except for Aaron Rodgers. Sorry, Pete.

4

Just the other day my Dad told me how proud he was of me, which is a pretty typical of a dad.  But, what was special was that he said, “I’m glad that you are getting some recognition for being a good person, but I’ve known all along.” I too, Dad am proud of you.

I can see past his imperfections and love him for him as he can love me for me. My flaws and all.

1

Taken at a 4th of July party a few years back.

3

Taken right after my diagnosis on top of his stage coach.

 

2 thoughts on “My Unsung Hero, My Dad

  1. Lori your awesome and I would gladly give you all my birthday wishes if I thought they would help. Stay strong and know we (Zembas) have your back!!!!

Leave a Reply

