Judging a Book By It’s Cover

One of my very favorite things in life is when the unexpected twist happens in human form.  It’s that tongue in cheek moment.  It’s when a predisposition you unknowingly have reaches out and smacks you in the face.

It’s the cholla with painted on eyebrows that’s crazy smart, loyal, patient and kind.

My favorite example has been getting to know the football players that come over for dinner. It’s when the biggest guy at the table has the largest heart, or when the soft spoken one has volumes of hardship but remains humble, gracious and when under a ton of pressure, surprisingly calm.

There are two of my co-workers who started off in entry level jobs ten years ago and have worked their way up.  All along the way, they did their jobs patiently and made their spokes in the wheel necessary to keep the company rolling.  I’m so proud of them because a) you would never know it by looking at them and b) all the odds were against them.  Bravo!

It’s sizing someone up wearing head to toe Burberry and driving a Porsche who, when I first met 17 years ago, worked as the night janitor at Wal-Mart. Yes, Robert, I’m talking about you.

It’s the gay male doctor that most female nurses had a crush on because he’s so sweet, nice and caring.  But he doesn’t fit the “stereotype” of being gay.  Not every gay man is gonna “hey girl” you and wear pink shirts with his collar flipped up.

It’s the homeless man that can quote Oscar Wilde.

It’s the 63 year old woman and her 73 year old boyfriend that ride their horses thousands of miles a year. Yes, you Mom.  Literally thousands of miles. People, this isn’t by no means an exaggeration.

It’s the muscular, Harley motorcycle dude who sits with his wife while getting chemo and is almost in tears over how strong his wife has to be.  He says, “I wish it was me rather than my beautiful wife,” who sits there bald, exhausted and slightly gray.  “I would take it on myself any day rather see her have to go through this.” Ernesto and Rosa. She’s now cancer free, by the way.

It’s the dyslexic hyper kid that no one believes will succeed who is now an electrical engineer with a 911 Porsche turbo in the garage.  How come my friends have such fancy cars?  I wanna poke fun at them, but they’ve both worked their asses off to get them so I have a hard time doing that. Pretty boys (still got in a zinger!).

Or the “cool guys” in their “cool trucks” that look at homeless man and say, “I feel so bad for that guy.  What happened in his life to put him in that situation?”

I just love that head snap reaction when you meet the single mom who is able to take care of herself, her children, be gainfully employed and is <gasp> happy.  Good for her!!

Nothing makes me more happy than when a prim and proper lady has the vocabulary of a sailor. Yes you, Vicki.

It’s the 6’10” dude that didn’t play high school basketball, but is an incredibly smart businessman and respected leader. (Wayne)

Or the beauty queen (Nicole) who’s witty, smart, sassy and has impeccable timing.  It doesn’t hurt that the bitch has a banging body and is one of sweetest people ever.Can we all just throw tomatoes at her already?

I am a fan of the underdog and underrated and the people that others passed over and make it.  Yessssss!!!  There are few things that tickle me so.

I noticed and appreciated “this type of person” before my diagnosis and now, ironically, I am one of “them”.  Random medical folks will notice my port scar, size me up and then tilt their head.  I know exactly what they are thinking.  A few brave ones will ask about it. Most of the time, I tell them the truth and then they stand there with their jaw hanging wide open.  I also get the random, “Lori, I heard of your diagnosis, but you look great so everything must be fine, right?”  A random stranger could size me up and NEVER know the fight I’m in; mentally, physically, spiritually and emotionally.

I guess the old saying is true… Never ever judge a book by its cover!

Psst… I added the extra ever. 😉

IMG_7362

6 thoughts on “Judging a Book By It’s Cover

  1. You are my hero — through your journey of this awful unforgiving disease — you have taught me so much through your postings. It takes an incredible person to share her thoughts and teach so many of us so much through your journey. I’m trying to be a better person because of you — honestly. You are my hero.

  2. Lori, your words move me so; you share an important message to all of us, that we must always give a person the benefit of doubt because we never know what is happening inside their mind or body. You share that there can be happiness while struggle prevails and that we must seek that happiness and not only concentrate on the struggle. Thank you for your words of wisdom. You are in my thoughts daily.

Leave a Reply

