Houston, We Have a Pile Up

Pile up is the only way to describe the time since my last update, and as a result, I’m headed to MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston next week.  Lemme start at the beginning.

A few weeks ago, I was out for a bike ride with Jeremiah. It was a perfect late summer / early autumn evening and I was glad to be out. While we we’re riding, ‘Miah dared me to race him and to use the extra gears on my bike to see if it would make me go faster. Long story short, the asphalt won.

The bike handle bar also won, as it dug up into my abdomen when I fell. It hurt, but I survived. I started to feel pretty uncomfortable in my abdomen and thought that maybe I had a bruised or broken a rib. I went to bed that night a little tender all over, but with nothing majorly wrong. That was a Thursday night.

I woke up to paramedics in my bedroom on Friday afternoon.

Brandon told me later that I had slept in on Friday morning. It was midday Friday when he checked in on me and realized I was nearly unconscious and unresponsive. A call to 911 and a couple tests by the paramedics showed my blood sugar was dangerously low. I managed to eat some sweets to prop up my blood sugar and bounced back fairly quickly, which was good, because Saturday was going to be busy. I had Briton’s golf tournament in T or C, Jeremiah’s football game and NMSU’s Stuff the Stadium game.

Due to the busy day planned Saturday, my fuzzin’ Nicole came to stay with me Friday night and help me get ready for the day.  Again, woke up with paramedics around me. This time, I went to the hospital.

After a few days of rest in the hospital, a CT scan and closely-monitored blood sugar, my doctors saw new tumor growth and think they’re now producing extra insulin. That insulin was driving my blood glucose levels dangerously low. Monitoring my blood sugar every two to three hours became really important.

Fortunately, my Gomez Gems sprung into action. I’ve had a constant stream of visitors and helpers these past couple weeks at the house, morning, noon, night and midnight. They help check my sugar, try to make sure I’m eating enough, rub my back when I’m feeling achy, and keep my spirits up. Thank you all.

So, where am I today?  My docs have found a new medication to regulate my insulin, so my glucose is a lot more stable. But because I seem to have every known side effect to this medication, I’m not feeling so great. Think bloating like I swallowed a watermelon, swollen joints like I ate a tablespoon of salt, burping like I drank a 2 liter of Coke, gas like I ate a pound of pinto beans, and nausea worse than morning sickness, all at once. Seriously.

Come Monday, I have an appointment with a team of doctors at MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. They’ll be reviewing my case with a completely fresh set of eyes to see if there are any options we haven’t thought of.

So, Houston, we’re on our way. Let’s try to avoid a pile up in Texas traffic. We’re already leaving one back in Las Cruces.

11 thoughts on “Houston, We Have a Pile Up

  1. We all love you Lori. I used to think I was tough, but you’re seriously one tough SOB. Seeing you walk on the field for that game was nothing short of inspirational. Let me know if there is anything you need from me.

  2. Getting frequent updates from your Aunt Jo, and our entire family is praying for you and your family. As always — you remain my hero.

  3. You continue to amaze me with your pizazz, positive energy, courage and brains, not to mention the big C to deal with. Karin and I think about you a lot. Stay strong!

  4. I hope those fresh eyes can find some stabilizing something to help you recover from all this. You are well loved, and this just absolutely sucks. Hang in there, I hope you are not in too much pain… Hugs to you!

  5. just saw this as I am in OK with Jax….keeping you in my prayers, sweet girl. I keep up with you through your blog and FB posts…you’re always in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

